utahinformation.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.

How to Reinstate a Suspended Drivers License in Utah

Having a suspended drivers license in Utah means your driving privileges have been temporarily revoked for violating certain laws or codes. Those who find themselves with a drivers license suspension for accumulating too many points against their driving record, for example, must take the steps to reinstate drivers license credentials in order to be able to operate a motor vehicle without restriction. That is why it is important to understand how to reinstate drivers license credentials following a citation. Learn more about the process to reinstate your suspended or revoked driving privileges below.

Reasons for Drivers License Suspensions in Utah

Having a revoked drivers license means that you will not be permitted to operate a motor vehicle during the length of your suspension. If you have received a drivers license suspension in UT, you had likely received too many demerit points on your driving record, was convicted of reckless driving or was arrested for driving under the influence.

Perhaps the most serious cause for a suspended drivers license is a DUI conviction. If you are arrested for a DUI, your drivers license will be confiscated immediately by the arresting officer. In most cases, you will receive a citation along with your drivers license suspension that will provide you with a temporary credential that will expire after 29 days. DUI drivers license suspensions are serious, and will include longer suspension periods, larger fines and restrictions additional to those of other types of violations. One such restriction is the requirement to have an ignition interlock device installed into your motor vehicle, requiring you to blow into the device and have your alcohol level measured prior to the motor vehicle being able to start. An alcohol restriction would also be applied to the Utah suspended drivers license, requiring motorists to not have any alcohol in their system when operating a motor vehicle, rather than remaining under the legal limit.

Additionally, motorists may also get a suspended driving license if they receive too many demerit points within a three-year period. Those who are under the age of 21 years will receive a drivers license suspension should they accumulate 70 or more points within that three-year period. Motorists who are 21 and older will receive a suspension if 200 or more points have been received within three years. Each traffic violation carries its own point penalty, but those points could vary by up to 10% based upon a driving record and number of repeat offenses.

Many of these violations will not warrant an automatic drivers license suspension in Utah, but there are a few that potentially could. A reckless driving conviction carries 80 points, enough to automatically suspend the drivers license of anyone who is under the age of 21. Similarly, the penalty for speeding 21 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit is 75 points.

Reinstating Drivers Licenses in Utah

Each drivers license suspension will require the driver to wait out a period of time based on the conviction that led to the revocation. In addition to this waiting period, UT drivers license reinstatement fees and your traffic violation fines will need to be paid. Many motorists may find themselves wondering, “Why do I have to pay for a fee to reinstate my drivers license if I’ve already paid my violation fine?” While a valid question, court fines are separate from reinstatement fees, and both must be paid in full before a license can be reinstated. Reinstatement fees, like suspension periods, will vary based upon age, conviction and the severity of the driving record.

If you received a drivers license suspension due to demerit points on your record, those under 21 years of age will receive a period of suspension from one month to one year, while those who are 21 and older will receive a three-month to one year suspension. If you received a suspended drivers license in Utah as a penalty for a DUI conviction, the term will be longer, up to 18 months for first-time arrests and up to 36 months for subsequent arrests.

If you are unsure about the waiting period of your driving license suspension, you can always check drivers license suspension status online, in person, or over the phone.

The court may order you to take additional drivers license restoration steps in addition to the suspended drivers license waiting period and fines. Some of these steps may include:

  • Taking a defensive driving course.
  • Retaking drivers license knowledge and/or road skill exams.
  • Showing proof of auto insurance.

Eligibility Requirements for a Provisional Drivers License in Utah

In order to apply for a UT provisional drivers license, also referred to as a hardship license, there are a set of eligibility requirements that you must meet. Most suspended drivers license applicants that had their license suspended as a result of demerit points can apply for a provisional license right away, if they meet the criteria. These requirements include:

  • Paying all required drivers license reinstatement fees, all court fines and all required licensing fees.
  • Completing any required testing, when applicable.
  • Providing written verification from employer or school of hours of employment/class.

Those who have been given a drivers license suspension due to a DUI conviction will not be eligible for a provisional drivers license until at least one year after the offense, assuming that they have been violation free for this entire period. Additionally, you may need to meet additional requirements, such as providing a written letter from a licensed physician.

Where You Can Drive on a Utah Provisional Drivers License

A limited provisional license in Utah is a temporary, 90-day credential that will only allow drivers to operate their motor vehicles under specific circumstances. These circumstances include the following:

  • Employment
  • Education
  • Child visitation

Outside of driving to and from these locations, you are still not permitted to operate a motor vehicle.

How to Apply for a Provisional Drivers License in Utah

Residents with a suspended drivers license who meet the eligibility requirements outlined above will be able to apply for a Utah provisional license at their local DMV. Residents that have received a drivers license suspension due to demerit points will not be required to have an additional court hearing, however those who were suspended due to a DUI conviction will.

The Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License in Utah

Driving with a suspended license in UT is a serious crime and if you are convicted, you could be subject to additional fines and criminal charges that could result in jail time. Generally, on top of these penalties, your original drivers license suspension period could be increased and you could be denied for a limited provisional drivers license in the future.

It might also interest you: