MENU

utahinformation.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


Driver Tests Overview in Utah

Passing the Utah drivers test is required for residents to obtain a drivers license in the state. This drivers license test is comprised of a written drivers exam, a vision test and a practical road skills exam that tests driving capabilities. For the UT DMV drivers test, applicants must provide a test vehicle to drive. Additionally, first-time applicants must meet certain eligibility requirements in order to begin the testing phase. Driving test applicants must be at least 16 years of age and if younger than 18 years of age, then they must have had a Utah permit for six months. Young motorists can read the state’s driver handbook to find all the information they will need to know to pass their tests. Learn more about the UT drivers exam in the detailed sections provided here.

Utah Driving Exam for Vision

All Utah drivers license exam applicants are required by the state Department of Public Safety (DPS), or DMV, to take and pass an eye test in order to meet the DMV drivers test vision requirements. To pass this portion of the driving test, applicants must have at minimum 20/40 vision and 120 degrees of peripheral vision in either one or both eyes. Applicants who cannot pass this portion of the driving exam, whether wearing prescription eyewear or not, need a written statement from an eye doctor in order to complete the driver’s license application. The letter should explain specific issues the applicant has with vision and recommend restrictions if necessary.

Utah Written Drivers Exam

The written driver’s test in Utah includes questions written from the information available in the Utah Driver Handbook. Applicants must earn an 80 percent score or higher to pass. Before taking the written drivers exam, drivers should study the handbook to alleviate test anxiety regarding uncertain guesses on the exam. The knowledge exam can be taken twice in one day if necessary. The written driving test should be taken at the same DMV office that an applicant plans to take the road skills test. After the written drivers test is complete, a score is given with an explanation for all incorrect answers in an effort to educate applicants in preparation for retaking the test should it be necessary. While applicants can take the written test as many times as necessary to pass, they should study the handbook thoroughly to avoid having to take it multiple times. When applicants pass the Utah written drivers exam, they can move on to the road skills test, detailed in the next section.

Make your road skills DMV driving test appointment immediately after passing the written portion to avoid waiting longer or forgetting to schedule. You cannot take the road skills portion of the driving license exam without an appointment. Also, you must take the driving portion at the same full-service driver license office where you take your written test.

Road Skills Utah Driving Exam

The road skills exam, the final step of the DLD drivers test in Utah, is administered to first-time aspiring drivers and to those who do not have license credentials from another state or do not meet certain drivers ed requirements. In fact, any resident seeking certain services at DLD sites is subject to a driving license exam should DMV employees or examiners deem his or her ability to drive questionable.

The drivers license test in Utah is given to patrons who wish to demonstrate their abilities to operate a vehicle and obtain a legal drivers license. Utah drivers ed test examiners judge hopeful young motorists on their ability to comply with state rules and regulations in addition to driving technique. Furthermore, a driving test examiner assesses motorist conduct and general demeanor in regards to safe driving practices. Some of the points of evaluation during the driving test assessment include steering and posture, appropriate use of lanes, adherence to traffic signals and road signs, awareness at intersections, turns, U-turns, starting and stopping, reversing and parking between cars and on hills. For more information on what drivers are tested on, consult the driving handbook.

Would-be drivers who do not pass the road skills driver license exam can test again, but only one test is allowed per day. The Utah DLD expects applicants who fail the driving test to spend time practicing before returning to test again. By going back and practicing the basic functions of driving and rules of the road, practicing parking and following up with the handbook, motorists will increase their ability and knowledge. As a result, they will be more likely to pass the test the next time they take it and receive a driving license. The drivers license test fee includes up to three attempts on the road skills portion, after which additional attempts will require payment of another fee. All drivers license exams, including subsequent attempts, must be taken within six months of paying the fee. Once the UT driving test is passed, a picture is taken and a permanent drivers license copy will arrive in the mail within six to eight weeks.

The written drivers test, the vision test and the driving portion of the test must be done in person at any Utah driver license office location. Note that prior to applying for a license, all drivers must take the online Traffic Safety and Trends Exam in addition to the written and road skills tests. This drivers test requires applicants to pass with 100 percent to continue with the licensing process.

Vehicle Requirements for the Utah Road Skills Exam

The vehicle required to take the road skills driving exam in Utah is provided by the applicant and must comply with state vehicle safety laws. Driving test applicants need to bring a valid registration card as proof the car is registered with the state of Utah. The vehicle must have properly functioning seat belts among other requirements listed in the driver’s handbook. Keep in mind a vehicle can be rejected if the examiner does not deem the vehicle safe or suitable for testing. Finally, during the driving exam, the driver and the examiner are the only occupants that can be in the vehicle.

It might also interest you: