utahinformation.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.

SR22 Insurance in Utah

SR22 insurance in Utah is necessary when motorists violate the state’s Financial Responsibility Law, which requires drivers to show proof of auto insurance. A qualified insurance agent will file the SR22 form with the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) after a motorist has lost his or her license. Meant to cover high-risk drivers, SR-22 insurance is required for motorists who have been charged with a DUI, arrested for reckless driving multiple times or caught operating a vehicle with a suspended or revoked license. Since the SR22 certificate proves that motorists have car insurance, it allows them to reinstate their driver’s license. However, for motorists to keep their license, they have to continue the Utah SR22 for the mandatory period set by the DMV, which is usually three years. SR22 insurance quotes are available right here. For more about SR-22 rates and how to get a policy, review the information below.

What is Utah SR 22 insurance?

Utah SR22 insurance is similar to standard car insurance, with the exception of the certificate. An SR22 form allows motorists who have lost their driving privileges to apply for license reinstatement from the DMV. Motorists must visit a licensed insurance agent to file the SR-22 form, and he or she will file it with the DMV. In Utah, the following three types of SR22 certificates are available:

  • Operator’s certificate, which covers motorists who do not own the vehicle they will be driving
  • Owner’s certificate, which protects drivers who own the car they operate
  • Operator’s-Owner’s certificate, which covers all financial responsibility no matter who operates the automobile

In addition to the SR22 certificate, you still have to carry liability auto insurance on your vehicle in order to comply with the Utah Financial Responsibility Law. In Utah, the minimum requirements are $25,000 per person for bodily injury liability, $65,000 for two or more persons for bodily injury liability and $15,000 for property damage liability. Drivers wondering how to get SR22 insurance quotes can click here.

When is Utah SR22 insurance necessary?

You may be wondering who needs SR22 insurance in Utah since this type of coverage is less common than the typical policies. As a car owner and operator, you must buy SR 22 insurance if you have had your license suspended or revoked and wish to regain your driving privileges. The most common reasons for needing SR22 and losing your driver license include the following:

  • Being charged with DUI or DWI
  • Driving recklessly
  • Exceeding the maximum number of allowable points on your driving record
  • Being involved in frequent accidents
  • Violating the Financial Responsibility Law or the Implied Consent Law

Utah SR22 insurance allows drivers to apply for reinstatement before their suspension or revocation ends.

Cost of SR22 Insurance in Utah

Utah SR-22 rates are often greater than those for standard car insurance plans since the coverage is usually associated with high-risk motorists. To receive SR 22 insurance quotes, drivers may want to discuss their needs with their current auto insurance provider. If residents are dissatisfied with their provider’s recommendations, then they should shop around and obtain quotes from various insurance agents. Get SR22 insurance quotes here.

Filing for an SR22 certificate generally results in a small fee from your insurance carrier. The amount varies depending on the insurance company. Since SR22 does not satisfy the minimum requirements under the Financial Responsibility Law, you are also required to purchase auto liability coverage. In addition to the filing fee and liability insurance costs, drivers will be responsible for the DMV’s reinstatement fees.

Consequences of Having to Purchase SR22 Insurance in Utah

Motorists who need to purchase Utah SR22 insurance must do so for the entire duration of what would have been their driver’s license suspension. Therefore, if the court ordered a license suspension of three years following a DUI arrest, then the SR-22 insurance would need to continue for those three years. This is the case unless the motorist chooses not to reinstate his or her driving privileges. If drivers allow the UT SR22 insurance to lapse, then they will face another license suspension or revocation. Motorists can avoid the consequences by getting an SR 22 quote here.

Penalties for Not Getting Utah SR22 Insurance

If a motorist decides not to obtain Utah SR22 insurance, then he or she cannot regain driving privileges with the DMV until the license suspension has ended. Motorists who do complete the SR22 form filing process with their auto insurance company are permitted to buy a standard liability policy and reinstate their driving credentials with the Utah DMV.

It might also interest you: