utahinformation.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


DUIs in Utah

Getting a DUI in Utah has various results, such as legal ramifications and driving consequences. DUI and DWI charges, referring to driving under the influence and driving while intoxicated, are serious. Utah DUI penalties are strict because state officials want to ensure safe driving conditions for all motorists. DUI consequences in the state include fines, community service, jail time, vehicle impoundment and revoked driving privileges. The courts may require anyone charged with DUI violations to undergo screenings, participate in assessments, complete educational programs or obtain substance abuse treatment. Drivers could also be placed on probation. Having a DUI lawyer is helpful even if an offender does not wish to contest charges. Locate legal counsel for a DUI here. An attorney will assist you in understanding related laws and navigating court proceedings. Below you will find all the drunk driving information you need and ways to hire a lawyer.

When are motorists charged with a DUI and DWI in Utah?

There is a possibility of getting a DUI any time you drink or use drugs before driving. You can now get a DUI in Utah for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.05 percent, when once a BAC of 0.08 percent would result in a DUI arrest. Like many states, Utah has an implied consent law, meaning if you refuse a BAC test, you will be fined and have your license automatically suspended for a minimum of 18 months. Utah DUI laws also apply to driving while under the influence of drugs, including over-the-counter medications, narcotics and other drugs. Even if a drug is prescribed to you, you can still get a DUI if taking the medicine impairs your driving ability.

What happens if you get a DUI in Utah?

Immediately following a first DUI arrest, your vehicle may be impounded and you will most likely be taken to jail for 48 consecutive hours. However, Utah DUI law states that completing 48 hours of community service is also acceptable. You will also have to pay fines and participate in a drug and alcohol screening and assessment. Depending on those results, a judge may require substance abuse education or even treatment. When charged with a DUI in UT, law enforcement officers will confiscate your driver’s license and issue a citation that serves as a temporary license for 29 days.

It is best to hire a DWI attorney as soon as possible after your arrest, even though you have 10 days to request a hearing regarding your driver’s license suspension. You can find a DUI attorney here.

Why should you hire a Utah DWI lawyer?

Interpreting Utah DUI laws can be overwhelming whether this is a first or subsequent DUI arrest. In addition to helping you understand all the DUI information involved in your conviction, a DUI attorney will guide you through court proceedings. While many of the DUI penalties are mandatory, a judge can use his or her discretion to enforce additional consequences. A DUI attorney may be able to lessen or eliminate DUI charges. If you have been charged with DWI violations, then you can find a DWI lawyer here.

What are the penalties for getting a DUI in Utah?

Getting a DUI in Utah has serious consequences that impact your life for months or even years. Mandatory DUI penalties include a jail sentence for a minimum of 48 hours, a fine of at least $700 and payments for required screening and assessment. If your vehicle was impounded, towed or stored, then you are responsible for those fees as well. A blood alcohol concentration level of 0.16 percent or higher results in probation.

Another mandatory DUI penalty is license suspension. Following the 29-day period after a DUI arrest, if you are 21 or older, your license will be revoked for 120 days. If you refused BAC testing at the time of the DUI charge, then the suspension is 18 months. Anyone younger than 21 faces a two-year license suspension or a three-year revocation when declining the chemical test. Furthermore, a judge could require the installation of an ignition interlock system, a device that prevents a vehicle from starting when the driver’s BAC is at or above a limit determined by the court. Utah DUI consequences and fines are greater for repeat offenders. There are additional penalties if anyone is injured as a result of your DUI and if anyone under the age of 18 was in your vehicle while you were driving under the influence.

All of the above factors contribute to your DUI charges and could result in a misdemeanor or even a felony conviction. Especially in these cases, having a criminal DUI attorney is a wise choice. Find qualified DUI attorneys in Utah here.

It might also interest you: